Skip to Main Content

APA 7th ed. Citation Guide: Articles

Contains the latest changes and updates to APA Style

Articles

Articles can come from many sources including:

  • Journals (includes Peer Review)
  • Magazine or Trade Publications
  • Newspapers

They can be published in print, in a library database or on a website. 

Missing Information?

Some sources, such as websites, may not have the full information to create a citation.  APA has guidelines for dealing with missing components of a citation, both in-text and reference entry.

Author Information!

PRO TIP: Formatting Author Names

Author, A.A. etc = Author's Last Name, First Name Initial. Middle Name Initial.

Articles with One Author

Reference page citation:

1. DOI:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article: Subtitle of article if available. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxxx

Bailey, N. W. (2012). Evolutionary models of extended phenotypes.Trends in Ecology & Evolution, 27(3), 561-569. https://doi.org/ 10.1016/j.tree.2012.05.011

 

2. No DOI, Article from an Academic Research Database or Print Version:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Carlisle, D. (2012). In the line of fire. Nursing Standard, 26(39), 18-19.

 

3. No DOI, Newspaper Article from an Academic Research Database or Print Version:

Author, A. A. (Year), Month Day). Title of article. Title of newspaper.

Goldman, C. (2018, November 28). The complicated calibration of love, especially in adoption. Chicago Tribune.

 

In-Text:

Paraphrase: (Bailey, 2012)

Quote:           (Bailey, 2012, p. 70)

Reference page citation

Article from a print Magazine or Periodical:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Jungers, W. L. (2010). Biomechanics: Barefoot running strikes back. Nature, 463(2), 433-434.

 

Newspaper Article, Print:

Author, A. A. (Year), Month Day). Title of article. Title of newspaper.

Goldman, C. (2018, November 28). The complicated calibration of love, especially in adoption. Chicago Tribune.

 

In-Text:

Paraphrase: (Jungers, 2010)

Quote:           (Jungers, 2010, p. 7)

Reference page citation:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. http://url of article

Flachs, A. (2010). Food for thought: The social impact of community gardens in the Greater Cleveland Area. Electronic Green Journal, 1(30). http://escholarship.org/uc/item/6bh7j4z4

In-Text:

Paraphrase: (Flachs, 2010)

Quote:           (Flachs, 2010, p. 15)

Articles with Two Authors

Reference page citation:

1. DOI:

Author, A. A., & Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxxx

Barker, B. B., & Van Burness, N. W. (2019). College student experiences on campus: peer influence on behaviours.Trends in Higher Education, 114(6), 161-169. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tree.2019.06.081

2. No DOI:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Bogan, E. B, & Paun, E. G. (2011). The assimilation of immigrants into the British labor market. Geopolitics, History, and International Relations, 3(2), 272.

In-Text:

Paraphrase: (Barker & Van Burness, 2019)

Quote:           (Barker & Van Burness, 2019, p.18)

Reference page citation:

Author, A. A., & Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Fulsom, B. W., & Torrent, S. G. (2018). Hand sanitation in the health field: transference of bacteria amongst patients . Nursing in Practice, 3(1), 116.

In-Text:

Paraphrase: (Fulsom & Torrent, 2018)

Quote:            (Fulsom & Torrent, 2018, p. 116)

Reference page citation:

Author, A. A., Author, A. A. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. http:// url of website

Lindstrome, J. E., & Devon, l. T. (2016). Compassion in the workplace: pushing past competition towards collaboration. Journal of Effective Workplace Sciences, 15(6), 130-142. http://www.workplacesciences.org/volume007/issue15/6.Compassion%workplace.pdf

In-Text:

Paraphrase: (Lindstrome & Devon, 2016)

Quote:           (Lindstrome & Devon, 2016, p. 138)

Articles with Three (3) to Twenty (20) Authors

Rule:

Provide surnames and initials for up to and including 20 authors, use an ampersand  "&" before the final author's name. 

Reference page citation:

1. DOI:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., & Author, D. D. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. https://doi.org/xxxxxxxxxxx

Pempek, T. A., Yermolayeva, Y. A., & Calvert, S. L. (2009). College students' social networking experiences on Facebook. Journal of Applied Developmental Psychology, 3(2), 227-238. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.appdev.2008.12.010t

2. No DOI:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., & Author, D. D. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Bogan, E., Cambridge, A. S., & Paun, E. (2011). The assimilation of immigrants into the British labor market. Geopolitics, History, and International Relations, 3(2), 272.

In-Text:      See In-Text Citations Multiple Authors

 

Reference page citation:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., & Author, D. D. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Falls, S. W., Neal, R. B., & Torres, S. (2008). Doing it better: Cap off to this sewing project. Nursing, 38(5), 17.

In-Text:      See In-Text Citations Multiple Authors

Reference page citation:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., & Author, D. D. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. http:// url of website

Davidson, J. E., Burnell, L., Devin, L. R., Rochon, R.,B.  VanWyk, C., & Virgen, M. A. (2012). Poetric transcription to explore the concept of caring. International Journal of Caring Sciences, 5(6), 120-128. http://www.caringsciences.org/volume005/issue2/7.Poetic%20Caring.pdf

In-Text:      See In-Text Citations Multiple Authors

Articles with 21 or more Authors

Rule:

Provide surnames and initials for the first 19 authors' names then insert an ellipsis (...), and then add the final author's name.  Do not include an ampersand (&) before the final author's name. 

Reference page citation:

1. DOI:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., . . .  Author, Z. Z. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. https://doi.org/xx-xxxxxxx

Grand, T. P., Jessop, G. J., Dupret, S. J., Healey, A. M., Leahy, L. T., Levine, P. A., Anderson, P. Q., Williamson, S. A., Duff, M. S., Hayes, S. S., Belfry, M. M., O'Connell, L. B., Dupuis, L. A., Weeks, V. M., Guzzo, D. K., Blais, S. A., Morberg, E. A., Ingram, A. L., Stewart, J. T., . . . Greene, A. M. (2018). Facing the enemy within: Depression after childbirth. Journal of Women's Psychology, 5(7), 222-255. http://doi.org/10.1016/j.womenpsych.2018.12.010t

2. No DOI:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., . . .  Author, Z. Z. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Nilsson, J., Johansson, E.-J., Carlsson, M. D. Jr., Florin, J. C., Leksell, J. P., Lepp, M. T., Adams, Z. L., Starke, T. L., Banff-Lee, S.V., Vicory, C. E., Paulson, P. A., Donaldson, B. T., Vu, L. A., Henkee, T. P. , Norton, J. K., Pond, W. F., Freeman, C. T., Eaves, W. S., Darwin, H. V., . . . Gardulf, A. D. (2016). Disaster nursing: Self-reported competence of nursing students and registered nurses, with focus on their readiness to manage violence, serious events and disasters. Nurse Education In Practice, 17, 102-108.

In-Text:      See In-Text Citations Multiple Authors

Rule:

Provide surnames and initials for the first 19 authors' names then insert an ellipsis (...), and then add the final author's name.  Do not include an ampersand (&) before the final author's name.

Reference page citation:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., . . .  Author, Z. Z. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Matheson, A. P., Manser, R. D., Phillips, T. J., Assan, A. M., Shatner, W. J., Davies, J. W., Wozniak, G. P., Shroedinger, C. M., Wheaton, W. Jr., Jones, E. J. Jr., Forde, K. J., Bates, C. S., Gates, W. T., Fineman, Z. J., Hamilton, S. K., Dougall, B. C., Tribole, G. F., Kuthrapaule, A. T., Cooper, S. A., . . . Wallowitz, J. M. (2018). Big bang theory and the dark hole: does it exist?  Phyics Today, 38(5), 17.

In-Text:     See In-Text Citations Multiple Authors

Rule:

Provide surnames and initials for the first 19 authors' names then insert an ellipsis (...), and then add the final author's name.  Do not include an ampersand (&) before the final author's name.

Reference page citation:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., Author, C. C., Author, D. D., Author, E. E., Author, F. F., Author, G. G., Author, H. H., Author, I. I., Author, J. J., Author, K. K., Author, L. L., Author, M. M., Author, N. N., Author, O. O., Author, P. P., Author, Q. Q., Author, R. R., Author, S. S., . . .  Author, Z. Z. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. http:// url of website

Pinter, R. P., Pembroke, T. A., Calvin, H. P., Hays, J. D., Johnson, A. J., Anderson, C. M., Keystone, C. V., Hoffsteader, L. A., Flatts, S. H., Van Dyckk, S. O., Bailey, N. W., Adams, B. R., Devine, S. T., Donchev, R. A., Morkin, D. T., Hele, P. N., Pinchez, F. H., Sole, F. M., Crampe, T. C.,  . . . Farafowler, A. T. (2017). Violence in television dramas: gun usage in the Americas. British Journal of  Media Studies, 5(6), 120-128. http://www.bjmediastudies.org/volume25/issue12/American gun violence%30television.pdf

In-Text:     See In-Text Citations Multiple Authors

Articles with Unknown or Anonymous Author

Rule:

 For Reference List Entry:

  • If the Author is unknown or cannot be reasonably determined, move the title of the work to the author position, followed by a period, before the date of publication.

For In-Text citations:

  • Shorten the title as long as it can be uniquely identified. 
  • Capitalize the titles (only for the in-text citation). 
  • Italicize the title if it is also italicized in the reference entry.  If not italicized, use double quotation marks ("....") around the title in the in-text citation.

 

Reference page citation:

1. Author Unknown

Title of article. (Year). Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. Retrieved from library database or include the doi.

Lines crossed, bridges burned: current government decision making. (2019). MacLeans, 26(12), 18-19. Retrieved from CBCA database.

In-Text:

Paraphrase: ("Lines crossed", 2019)

Quote:           ("Lines crossed", 2019, p. 19)

2. Anonymous Author

Anonymous. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. doi: xx.xxxxxxxxx

Anonymous. (2015). Ford government's obsession with recreational drugs and alcohol destroying Ontario's reputation. Ontario for all, 22(1), 8. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier database.

In-Text:

Paraphrase: (Anonymous, 2015)

Quote:           (Anonymous, 2015, p. 8)

 Rule:

In the Reference list entry use the DOI if provided, otherwise, include the library database. 

In-text citations  require the use of quotation marks around the article title. You can shorten the title for the in-text citation.

1. No Author      *Articles that appear to have no author typically has a Corporate Author. *

Reference page citation:

Title of article. (Year). Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Outsmart your cravings. (2008, January 30). Prevention, 160(1), 45.

In-Text:

Paraphrase:     ("Outsmart", 2008)

Quote:                ("Outsmart", 2008, p.45)

 

Rules:

In-text citations  require the use of quotation marks around the article title. You can shorten the title for the in-text citation.

2. Anonymous Author   *The work MUST be signed as Anonymous. *

Reference page citation:

Anonymous. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range.

Anonymous. (2018). Outsmarting the government is easier than you might think. Canadian Politics, 15(6), 33.

In-Text:

Paraphrase:     (Anonymous, 2018)

Quote:                (Anonymous, 2018, p.33)

 

Reference page citation:

<
Title of article. (Year). Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. Retrieved from url of website

1. Author Unknown

Budget decision making in Ontario's government: lack of research leads to serious implications for have-not citizens. (2019). Retrieved  February 12, 2019 from http://notforthepeople.com/budget_cuts.

In-Text:

Paraphrase: ("Budget decision making", 2019)

Quote:           ("Budget decision making", 2019, para. 5)

Rules:

In-text citations  require the use of quotation marks around the article title. You can shorten the title for the in-text citation.

2. Anonymous Author

Anonymous. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume (issue), page range. Retrieved from http:// url of website

Anonymous. (2019). Cannabis and beer: Is Ontario open for business? Retrieved from torontostar.com/open_for_business.

In-Text:

Paraphrase: (Anonymous, 2019)

Quote:           (Anonymous, 2019, para. 3)

Works by the Same Author with the Same Year

When you are citing two different sources that share the same author and year of publication, assign lowercase letters after the year of publication (a, b, c, etc.). Assign these letters according to which title comes first alphabetically. Use these letters in both in-text citations and the Reference list.

Reference page citations:

Daristotle, J. (2015a). Name of first article. Made Up Journal, 26(39), 18-19. Retrieved from Pretend Library database.

Daristotle, J. (2015b). Title of second article: typically the content is similar in context. Another Made Up Journal, 35(1), 48-55. Retrieved from Another Pretend Library database.

 

In-Text:

Paraphrasing content from first source by this author (Daristotle, 2015a). "Now I am quoting from the second source by the same author" (Daristotle, 2015b, p. 50).

In-Text Citation for Author Variations

 

Paraphrase citation: (Laurel & Hardy, 2000)
Quote citation: (Laurel & Hardy, 2000, p. 55)

Narrative citation:

Laurel and Hardy (2000) studied differing forms of comedy before formalizing slapstick comedy as their performance style.

 

Paraphrase citation: (Charles et al., 2019)
Quote citation: (Charles et al., 2019, para. 5)
Narrative citation: Charles et al. (2019) discovered that children between the ages of 10 and 16 were more prone to peer pressure.

Paraphrase citation: (Microsoft, 2020)
Quote citation: (Microsoft, 2020, para. 8)
Narrative citation: Microsoft (2020), like many large corporations, has a corporate responsibility policy that claims it is committed to giving back to Canadians.

 Corporate Author with a known abbreviation:

If the organization is often referred by an abbreviation, use the following style:

Paraphrase citation:

1st Citation: (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health [CAMH], 2019)

Subsequent Citations: (CAMH, 2019)
Quote citation:

1st Citation: (Centre for Addiction and Mental Health [CAMH], 2019, para. 8)

Subsequent Citations: (CAMH, 2019, para. 8)
Narrative citation:

1st Citation: The Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH, 2019) provides mental health services for patients found to be criminally insane and not fit for trial.

Subsequent Citations:  CAMH (2019) has responded to the large news coverage of recent patients who have left their care without authorization.
chat loading...