Skip to Main Content

Faculty and Staff Information

Book a Library Skills Demonstration or Workshop for your Class!

Research, citations, and much more! Contact your Program Library Liaison below.

All workshop topics can be tailored to your needs. See topics here.

Program Area Liaisons

Do you have a Library question, request, or idea? Contact your Liaison!

Program Area Liaison Extension
Business Studies Carmen Gelette                1162   
Community Development Cheryl Wardell     1291
Environmental & Natural Resource Science Rebecca King 3242 
General Arts & Sciences Cheryl Wardell  1291
Haliburton School of the Arts Cheryl Wardell  1291
Health Cheryl Wardell  1291
Justice Carmen Gelette  1162
Trades & Technology Carmen Gelette  1162

Library Services for Faculty

You are automatically in our system and can borrow materials. Your OneCard is your library card. You can access our online databases using Single Sign On. 

Borrowing policies including loan periods, renewals, holds and fines can be found on our About Us page.

Please direct any questions about Reserves to Library@flemingcollege.ca

Putting course readings and other resources on Reserve ensures that all students have access to this material. Reserves are kept behind the Library Service Desk, filed by either course code (Sutherland), or by instructor name (Frost). Students will need their Student ID to borrow Reserves (and all Library material).

The following regulations maximize access to these high-demand items:

  • Reserves are for In-Library use only
  • Reserves have very short (same-day) loan periods 

Students may need reminders that textbooks are not typically available through the Library's print or eBook collections. Students should contact the bookstore for textbook options.

Visit the Library or contact us to place materials on Reserve. Faculty and staff may submit personal copies or request that existing Library materials be placed on Reserve. Please note that your materials will be affixed with Library adhesive labels.

You may request to remove your item(s) from Reserve at any time.  At the end of each semester, your items will be delivered to your college mailbox unless you request to keep the material on Reserve for next term. 

You can book a film in advance to ensure it is available when you need it!  Contact us at Library@flemingcollege.ca and let us know the title of the film and your intended showdate.  

  • Looking for new video resources?  Check out our Streaming Video options
  • Using Films, News, TV, or Streaming Media in the classroom?  Please see our Copyright guidelines 
  • Using DVDs?  As CPUs in lecture halls  are replaced, they may no longer have a DVD drive. Faculty should contact IT Services and request a DVD player or USB DVD drive in advance of their lecture

Contact us if you would like a one-on-one, small group workshop or a webinar on any topic!

We can provide a personalized overview of Library resources or an in-depth look at a specific Library tool (eg. e-books, streaming video) or subject area. 

Watch for Library PD Sessions during Spring Development and Independent Learning Weeks. Popular past topics include:

  • Using the Library databases 
  • Academic Integrity and Artificial Intelligence
  • Streaming Video, eBooks and other specialized databases
  • Using an Information Literacy Framework in the classroom
  • Business Resources
  • Copyright
  • LMS Review Process
  • Turnitin Student Use

 

Research Request (Faculty & Staff)

Need some articles to supplement your course material or to add to a reading list?  Want some help finding resources for your student assignments? Please contact us at library@flemingcollege.ca.

Assignment Review

We can review your assignments before you hand them out to ensure there are enough Library resources for all students, and to ensure you are using up-to-date library terminology. Contact your Library Liaison.

Copyright Audit

We can review your course materials (print and electronic) to ensure copyright compliance. We can also provide alternative suggestions for compliant sources & content. Contact the Academic Integrity and Copyright Officer: Marcia Steeves ex 1356

Periodical Routing / Database Alerts

Keep up to date with your favourite journals! We can route print periodicals to your campus mailbox, or set up an email alert for e- journals.
Contact:
BREALEY: Cheryl Wardell ex 1291
FROST:  Rebecca King ex 3242

Collection Development

If you would like to recommend books for your program/course, please send your suggestions to:           
BREALEY: Cheryl Wardell ex 1291
FROST: Terri Duff  ex 3132

Main Print Collection: 16,518 books that serve to support studies in Health and Wellness, Justice and Community Development, General Arts and Sciences, Business, Technology and Trades.

Print Periodicals: 60 current titles supporting the curriculum and general interest. One year of back-issues are held in Library. Periodicals do not circulate.

Reserve Collection: Some instructors may choose to place course texts and other materials on Reserve. These items are for in-Library use only, and have very short loan periods (2 - 4 hours). You will need the title of the item or your course code to request these items at the Service Desk.

Specialized Print Collections:

  • Legal Reference Collection
  • Aviation Collection
  • Conservation Periodicals Back Issues
  • Nursing and Health Periodicals Back Issues
  • Leisure Reading Collection (Fiction and Non-Fiction)

Electronic Resources: Fleming Library provides access to many academic, professional, and vocational databases. This high quality material is not available freely online.

  • Over 200,000 ebook titles accessible on any platform or device.
  • Over 20,000 streaming video titles from a variety of platforms
  • Over 45 individual databases

Media Collections: 300 DVDs to support the curriculum.

*NOTE: I.T. will be removing VCRs from classrooms by September 2017. The Library will be replacing, converting, or discarding our VHS titles, according to established criteria.

  • 27 computer workstations with internet access
  • Same software as computers in main computer lab
  • 6 more computers in the Quiet Computing Room (C1 220.6)
  • Wireless access and wireless printing are available in library. To learn how to add print credits to your OneCard, visit the OneCard site
  • Black and White printer in Library, BRC1230: Print-credits required: $0.10/page
  • Colour print jobs are sent upstairs to Learning Commons, BRC2102Colour
  • Photocopying: Self-serve machine available outside the Library main door; uses print credits
  • Sutherland Campus Library has 4 group study rooms equipped with whiteboards, a large screen monitor & computer console
  • These rooms can be booked through our Booking system, up to 2 weeks in advance
  • 2 hours per group, per day. Groups who are 15 minutes late will forfeit their booking
  • Group Study Rooms are not available for  single user bookings. Individuals may use the Silent Study Room

Other Meeting Space on Campus:

To book other rooms on campus please use the Bookit tool. For instructions, please see the Student Bookit Guide

Silent Study Room  - NEW!  drop in anytime to Room C1 220.5

  • 18 study carrels arranged to promote academic integrity
  • no talking, open audio, or eating
  • students may be writing tests; please respect everyone's privacy
  • beautiful forest view

Quiet Computing Room - drop in anytime to Room C1 220.6

  • capacity: approximately 26
  • 6 computers available, or bring your laptop
  • room is occasionally booked for library workshops; please check the schedule at the door

Support for Course Delivery

  • Orientation to Library Resources & Services
  • Avoiding Plagiarism
  • Search Strategy & Finding Articles  
  • APA Citations
  • Academic Integrity
  • Evaluating Sources 
  • Using any specific resource
  • Using Wix, Turnitin Self-Directed, and other digital tools

All workshop topics can be tailored to your needs. More topics available - just ask us!

Don't have class-time to devote to Library Skills? Recommend our workshops and services to your students!

Silent Study Room  - NEW!  drop in anytime to Room C1 220.5

  • 18 study carrels arranged to promote academic integrity
  • no talking, open audio, or eating
  • students may be writing tests; please respect everyone's privacy
  • beautiful forest view

Quiet Computing Room - drop in anytime to Room C1 220.6

  • capacity: approximately 26
  • 6 computers available, or bring your laptop
  • room is occasionally booked for library workshops; please check the schedule at the door
  • In Quiet Room - 9 study carrels for private quiet studying
  • In Quiet Room - no talking, open audio or eating
  • In Quiet Computer Room - space to bring your own laptop or use one of our computers
  • In Quiet Computer Room - eating allowed, no open audio or talking

Customized Library Support for your Students

We can:

  • Visit your class to deliver library workshops or demonstrations
  • Host customized workshops for your students outside of 'class-time'
  • Record a custom library workshop video for you to share with your class
  • Host your class in the Library for a workshop, activity, or tour
  • Recommend online learning objects for information literacy topics
  • Collaborate with you to create a customized library assignment or resource guide
  • Schedule meetings with students individually, or in their project groups 

Academic Integrity

  • Information & supports for promoting Academic Integrity in the online environment
  • For Sanctions, the D2L module and live workshops are available. If you prefer your student to have a 1:1 meeting, please contact the Academic Integrity Officer

General Help 

chat loading...