Fleming Library: Copyright: Copyright Friendly Resources

Page Contents

Images
Journals & Learning Material
Music and Sound
Video

NOTE: Some sites are for educational purposes only so be sure to check site licensing information before using materials.

Have a Question on Copyright?

Information provided in our guide can often be confusing and hard to interpret. If ever in doubt contact Marcia Steeves the College's Academic Integrity and Copyright Officer.

Copyright Friendly Resources

In our information-rich environment it can be a still be a struggle to find materials to include in coursework and assignments. There are some materials that have agreements or licenses that can either reduce of remove copyright limitations.

Creative Commons (CC)

There is a lot of information online that has a Creative Commons (CC) license. You can search by license here, but be aware a Creative Commons (CC) license is just that: a license. You need to abide by all terms and conditions outlined in the license. Find out more about Creative Commons Licensing here.

A great video on Creative Commons and Copyright is available here.

Library Databases

The library has many online resources that can be used for teaching and studying, such as:

hundreds of thousands of quality articles from journals and magazines. Use of these articles requires persistent linking.
Thousands of educational films from our Films on Demand database

Open Access

Just like Creative Commons, these are materials that copyright owners have made freely available online and allow you to use them under certain conditions (Many of them using a Creative Commons license or some other type of open access license). Open Access materials include journal articles, research data, software code, images and much, much more.

Public Domain

Typically copyright only lasts for 70 years after the owner has died. It's why we can copy Shakespeare's and Mozart's works without having to request permission.

Images

To understand how to use images in classroom or in your assignments, see our Images page.

Burning Well
Free public domain images and photos.
ClipArt Etc
A friendly license allows teachers and students to use up to 50 educational clipart items in a single, non-commercial project without further permission.
Creative Commons - Content Directories
Directory of sites that use Creative Commons licensing; organized by media type: audio, video, image, text, other.
Environmental Education Station - Public Domain Photo Library These photos are royalty free and may be used without charge for any educational purpose with attribution to David Anderson, Centre College (unless otherwise noted).
Flickr
Enter a search term in the top right search box, once your initial search runs an "advanced search" option will appear, select this. Refine your search using the Creative Commons information on the form.
Forestry Images
Forestry and related Insect images, free to use for educational purposes provided appropriate credit is given and end product is distributed at no cost.
FreeImages
A link (or textural credit in non-web applications) to this site is required where an image is used. Acceptable credits include 'image: www.freeimages.co.uk' or a hyperlink to the URL 'http://www.freeimages.co.uk'.
Google Images
Enter your search term, once your search runs, select "Search Tools" and then select "User Rights". Select the labeling category based on how you would like to use the image and your search will be refined.
Images Canada
Images Canada provides central search access to the thousands of images held on the websites of participating Canadian cultural institutions. See copyright tab for educational use outlines and instructions for crediting works.
Images in the Public Domain
Internet Archive
Digital library of free books, movies, music and access to the wayback machine.
Library and Archives Canada - Archives Image Search Archives Image Search is a tool that allows you to search for digital images of archival material in the holdings of Library and Archives Canada (LAC). A thumbnail for each search result helps you identify records of interest quickly and efficiently.
Library of Congress - Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
Most of the images in these holdings are in public domain unless specifically cataloged otherwise.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Open Access Collection Over 375,000 images of public-domain works from the Met Collection.
Microsoft Office Clipart
morgueFile
This morgueFile contains free high resolution digital stock photography for either corporate or public use.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Photo Library - Search
Most NOAA photos and slides are in the public domain and CANNOT be copyrighted.
There is no fee for downloading any images on the NOAA Photo Library. Educational use is encouraged as the primary goal of the NOAA Photo Library is to help all understand our oceans and atmosphere so as to be better stewards of our environment for future generations.
OpenClipart
Pics4Learning
Free, open source photo sharing for teachers and students (biomes, animals, art, food, world religions, fractals, holidays, space, landforms, geography, Native Americans, colonial America, Civil War, ancient civilizations, mythology, presidents, World War I, World War II)
PikWizard
Some high quality photos available for use - look for those with Creative Commons licence 0 for ease of use.
Pixabay
On Pixabay you may find and share images free of copyrights. All pictures are published under Creative Commons public domain deed CC0.
Public Domain Images
This site collects high quality public domain images.
Unsplash
All photos published on Unsplash are licensed under Creative Commons Zero which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission from or providing attribution to the photographer or Unsplash.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is intended to be a free resource of art history primarily for students and teachers.

Journals & Learning Materials

Academic Earth College Courses
Academic Earth curates an unparalleled collection of free online courses from the world’s top universities. With over 750 online courses and over 8500 instructional videos the collection continues to grow.
BC Campus Open Textbooks
BioMed Central - Open Access Journals
Journals include a wide range of topics, biology, health, nursing, biotechnology, and palliative care to name a few.
BMJ Open (British Medical Journal)
Online open access general medical journal that is dedicated to publishing medical research from all disciplines and therapeutic areas.
Carnegie Mellon University - Open Learning Initiative
Open and free multidisciplinary course materials.
ChemWiki
The ChemWiki is a collaborative approach toward chemistry education where an Open Access textbook environment is constantly being written and re-written by students and faculty members resulting in a free Chemistry textbook to supplant conventional paper-based books.
Connexions (Rice University)
"A place to view and share educational material made of small knowledge chunks called modules that can be organized as courses, books, reports, etc." Check at the bottom of each module for terms of use.
Coursera
Coursera is an education company that partners with the top universities and organizations in the world to offer courses online for anyone to take, for free.
Creative Commons - Content Directories
Directory of sites that use Creative Commons licensing; organized by media type: audio, video, image, text, other.
Creative Commons - Education
List of open education projects that contain materials with Creative Commons licensing.
Digital Commons--Peer Reviewed Journals List
Leading hosted open access institutional repository for hundreds of colleges and universities. Check out their list of multidisciplinary open access peer-reviewed journals.

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window
Over 1200 academic, peer-reviewed books from over 30 publishers representing a variety of different disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. DOAJ is independent. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.

Hathi Trust Digital Library
Users are encouraged to cite and link to digital content and are free to do so without asking for permission. Licenses or other contractual terms may restrict further distribution or other uses. Consult the "Access and Use" statement included in the PageTurner view for each item, for volume-specific information.
Internet Archive - Open Educational Resources
Collection of open peer-reviewed online learning materials for higher education.
Internet Shakespeare Editions (ISE)
The mission of the ISE is to inspire a love of Shakespeare's works in a world-wide audience by delivering open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources with the highest standards of scholarship, design, and usability.
Khan Academy
Khan Academy's resources and materials are available to the public free of charge.
MERLOT II
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community.
MIT Open Course Ware
Free course materials from MIT; open and available to everyone. Check FAQ's on Intellectual Property and Fair Use for terms of use details.
OECD iLibrary
Contains OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development) content such as the OECD Factbook series, OECD Working Papers, OECD in Figures, OECD Key Tables, and more.
OER Commons
Open Educational Resources holds over 30 000 resources that are free to use with Creative Commons licensing (check terms of use for each resource before making modifications).
Open Culture
Find a variety of open and free sources for educational media here, including: audio books, MOOCs, movies, language lessons, eBooks, and more.
Open Professionals Education Network
OPEN is funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation and offers free services aligned with the DOL’s grant requirements, designed to support your project.
Open Yale Courses
Open Yale Courses provides free and open access to a selection of introductory courses taught by distinguished teachers and scholars at Yale University.
OpenDoar
The Directory of Open Access Repositories, is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories.
Oxford Journals
Both full open access journals as well as optional open access journals. Optional open access journals have the permissions linked right to the article and may require a fee depending on the article and the use of the article. The majority of journals are scientifically based with some subject coverage on history and law.
P2PU (Peer to Peer University)
The Peer 2 Peer University is a grassroots open education project that organizes learning outside of institutional walls and gives learners recognition for their achievements. P2PU creates a model for lifelong learning alongside traditional formal higher education. Leveraging the internet and educational materials openly available online, P2PU enables high-quality low-cost education opportunities.
Planet eBook
Many titles in classic literature, a few in poetry and non-fiction, in eBook format, including Frankenstein, Sense and Sensibility, Dracula.
Project Gutenberg
Free full-text access to thousands of electronic books on a wide variety of topics. Includes books in English as well as many different foreign languages.
Public Library of Science
Medical literature available freely online.
StatSoft Electronic Statistics Textbook Online
StatSoft has freely provided the Electronic Statistics Textbook as a public service since 1995.
WikiEducator
This is an evolving community intended for the collaborative planning of education projects linked with the development of free content; development of free content on Wikieducator for e-learning work on building open education resources (OERs) on how to create OERs, and networking on funding proposals developed as free content.
WikiEducator - Remix and Compatibility with Creative Commons
Information about the ability to remix, adapt or re-purpose education material is a significant advantage of open educational resources (OER).
Wikiversity
Project devoted to learning resources, learning projects, and research for use in all levels, types, and styles of education from pre-school to university, including professional training and informal learning.

Music and Sound

Always attempt to find legally attainable music directly from the creator first. Music purchased through electronic means may carry terms and conditions prohibiting use outside of personal use. For more information on copyright law and the use of music, see our Music and Sound page.

UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive This searchable database features all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings.
Audio Micro
Royalty free music and sound effects.
ccMixter
ccMixter is a community music site featuring remixes licensed under Creative Commons where you can listen to, sample, mash-up, or interact with music in whatever way you want.
Creative Commons - Content Directories
Directory of sites that use Creative Commons licensing; organized by media type: audio, video, image, text, other.
Freeplay Music
Freeplay Music's library contains a a wide variety of high-quality music.
Internet Archive
Digital library of free books, movies, music and access to the wayback machine.
Jamendo
Royalty free music.
Petrucci Music Library
Scores and recordings in the public domain.
Spotify

Video

To understand how to use videos and streaming video in classroom or in your assignments, see our Films, News, Tv and YouTube our page.

CBC Digital Archives
The goal of the video archives is to have two copies of every program ever broadcast on the CBC - one "untouchable" master and one available to CBC staff to copy for reuse, rebroadcast or licensing to outside clients such as filmmakers and foreign networks.
Creative Commons - Content Directories
Directory of sites that use Creative Commons licensing; organized by media type: audio, video, image, text, other.
Films on Demand
Harvard Open Learning Initiative - Course Videos
Open Harvard lecture videos on a variety of topics.
Internet Archive
Digital library of free books, movies, music and access to the wayback machine.
MovieClips
Free, legal movie clips for mashup or sharing.
Open Culture
Find a variety of open and free sources for educational media here, including: audio books, MOOCs, movies, language lessons, eBooks, and more.
Academic Earth College Courses
Academic Earth curates an unparalleled collection of free online courses from the world’s top universities. With over 750 online courses and over 8500 instructional videos the collection continues to grow.
MERLOT II
MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community.
MIT Open Course Ware
Free course materials from MIT; open and available to everyone. Check FAQ's on Intellectual Property and Fair Use for terms of use details.
National Film Board of Canada
Films from the National Film Board of Canada. Only some videos are available online without registration.
National Geographic - Video Home
Users must adhere to the "Educational Use of Content" outlined under "Terms of Service".

BREALEY CAMPUS	FROST CAMPUS	CONTACT
Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 4:30pm	Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 4:30pm	Brealey: (705) 749-5516
Saturday & Sunday: Closed	Saturday & Sunday: Closed	Frost: (705) 878-9319
		library@flemingcollege.ca

Copyright: Copyright Friendly Resources