Copyright: Database Articles

Please note: Not all database licenses provide the same usage rights. Database licenses supersede Fair Dealing and we must adhere to the license agreements. To find out how material from a database may be used in or out of the classroom check our license lookup here: College Libraries Electronic Access Rights (CLEAR) or contact the library directly.

Information provided in our guide can often be confusing and hard to interpret. If ever in doubt contact Marcia Steeves the College's Academic Integrity and Copyright Officer.

The library has many online resources that can be used for teaching and studying, including thousands of quality articles from journals and magazines. Faculty may use these articles in the Learning Management System (LMS) provided that a persistent link is used directing students to the article itself.

A "persistent" link is predefined connection between programs so that when information in one database or file is changed, related information in other databases and files is also updated.

For most of the databases licensed at Fleming the persistent link is found in the following manner:

• Search for the article using the search screen (discovery search can be used to search all databases or you may use an individual database).
• Once the article is identified, there is usually a link icon  to the right hand side of the article providing you with the persistent link for use in the College’s LMS

Not all of the database licenses allow for the use of their materials in the LMS. Licensing information can be checked through the College Libraries Electronic Access Rights (CLEAR) database or by contacting the library.

Note: the article should be open and visible on the screen when you select the link icon, otherwise you may end up with a link to the abstract information only.