Digital Media

To understand how to use videos and streaming video in classroom or in your assignments, see our Films, News, TV and YouTube our page.

The goal of the video archives is to have two copies of every program ever broadcast on the CBC - one "untouchable" master and one available to CBC staff to copy for reuse, rebroadcast or licensing to outside clients such as filmmakers and foreign networks.

• CBC Digital Archives
  Find a selection of radio and television clips from the Archives of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. Some of these files are, for the first time, now accessible to the general public.
• Creative Commons - Content Directories

  Directory of sites that use Creative Commons licensing; organized by media type: audio, video, image, text, other.

• Harvard Open Learning Initiative - Course Videos

  Open Harvard lecture videos on a variety of topics.

• Internet Archive

  Digital library of free books, movies, music and access to the wayback machine.

• MovieClips

  Free, legal movie clips for mashup or sharing.

• Open Culture

  Find a variety of open and free sources for educational media here, including: audio books, MOOCs, movies, language lessons, eBooks, and more.

• Academic Earth College Courses

  Academic Earth curates an unparalleled collection of free online courses from the world’s top universities. With over 750 online courses and over 8500 instructional videos the collection continues to grow.

• MERLOT II

  MERLOT (Multimedia Educational Resource for Learning and Online Teaching) is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community.

• MIT Open Course Ware

  Free course materials from MIT; open and available to everyone. Check FAQ's on Intellectual Property and Fair Use for terms of use details.

• National Film Board of Canada 

  Films from the National Film Board of Canada. Only some videos are available online without registration.

• National Geographic - Video Home

  Users must adhere to the "Educational Use of Content" outlined under "Terms of Service".