Student Learning Supports: Tutoring Resources
Where would the contact us email go to? Which email?
Calendar
General Math Resources
-
Bright Storm - Math 2,000+ Videos Including Concepts, Sample Problems and Shortcuts.
-
Conversion Tables Conversion Tables and Instant Measurement Conversion
-
Exercises in Math Readiness (U of Sask) A collection of exercises on high school mathematics topics that seem to be most important for university study in mathematics, the other sciences, engineering, and commerce.
-
Math Tutorials Tutorials in different areas of math including percentages and decimals.
-
Purple Math Purplemath contains practical algebra lessons demonstrating useful techniques and pointing out common errors
-
Virtual Math Lab (West Texas A&M University) Get help with College Algebra, Intermediate Algebra, Beginning Algebra, Math for the Sciences, or preparing for the math part of the general GRE, THEA or ACCUPLACER test
-
Webmath Webmath is a math-help web site that generates answers to specific math questions and problems, as entered by a user, at any particular moment. The math answers are generated and displayed real-time, at the moment a web user types in their math problem and clicks "solve." In addition to the answers, Webmath also shows the student how to arrive at the answer.
Quizzes
-
Fluid dosage calculation quiz 25 multiple choice questions designed to test and refresh your knowledge about calculating fluid medication dosages.
-
Tablet dosage calculation quiz 25 multiple choice questions designed to test and refresh your knowledge about calculating tablet dosages.
Handouts that Help
-
Creating a Formula Sheet Help sheet for creating a formula sheet for class
Video Resources
Math Explained - Video Links
-
Against All Odds: Inside Statistics Each of the 32 videos introduces a statistical topic and illustrates it with a real-world example. You might want to simultaneously open the corresponding Student Guide so you can answer its questions about the video as you watch.
-
Just Math Tutorials Clear and thorough video explanations of a variety of math concepts.
-
Khan Academy Math Collection Watch videos and practice your skills for almost any math subject.
-
Nursing Math Calculations Playlist Math for nurses and medical proffesionals!This series looks at standard tablet and volume dosage calculations, IV drip rates, paediatric drug dosage calculations, dosages based on weight, dosages split over time, working with concentrations, mcg/kg/min calculations and more!
Math for Business Resources
Math for Science Resources
-
Dosage calculations tutorials This website provides a dosage calculations tutorial, complete with explanations and examples, to help nursing students prepare for a medication exam. (Source: Dosagehelp.com)
Math of Technology Resources
Math Flowcharts
PLAN – Planning an Expository Essay
Why use this strategy: Essay writing requires a plan. Use the PLAN strategy to generate, organize and expand your ideas before you start writing your essay.
Materials you’ll need: Your essay assignment, brainstorming tools (Inspiration, markers and big paper), writing tools (computer, pen and paper)
Steps in this strategy:
- Pay attention to the prompt
- Read the prompt
- Underline what you are asked to write about
- Underline how you are to develop it twice
- List main ideas
- Brainstorm possible responses to the prompt
- Decide on one topic
- Then brainstorm at least 3 main ideas for the development of your essay
- Add supporting ideas
- Think of at least 3 details, examples and elaborations to support each of your main ideas
- Number your ideas
- Number your main ideas in the order you’ll use them
Next try the WRITE strategy
WRITE – Writing an Expository Essay
Why use this strategy: Use the WRITE strategy to compose your expository essay. This strategy builds on the PLAN strategy.
Materials you’ll need: Your PLAN, your essay assignment, brainstorming tools (Inspiration, markers and big paper), writing tools (computer, pen and paper)
Steps in this strategy:
- Work from your PLAN to develop your thesis statement
- See cue cards for basic and advanced approaches
- Remember your goals
- Write 1-2 goals on the top of your plan
- Include transition words
- See cue cards for each paragraph
- Try to use different kinds of sentences
- Simple, compound, complex, declarative, interrogative, exclamatory
- Exciting, interesting, $100 000 words
- Use synonyms for words occurring more than once
Reading Techniques
Looking for a new or improved way to read? Check out these links:
-
The Learning Toolbox (James Madison University) This web site provides resources to help students with study skills, test taking skills, note taking, etc.
Handouts
Planning your Paper
-
The Learning Toolbox (James Madison University) This web site provides resources to help students with study skills, test taking skills, note taking, etc.
Researching your Paper
Improving your Writing
-
Guide to Grammar and Writing A very comprehensive site on numerous grammar and writing topics. Also contains a number of quizzes for practice.
-
Learn English Basics Includes resources on vocabulary, grammar, writing, listening and speaking.
-
The Purdue Online Wirting Lab (OWL) Contains resources on writing, research, grammar, styles, and ESL.
-
Thesis Statements and Topic Sentences (George Brown College)
Proofreading your Paper
Sutherland Campus
Tutoring Centre
8:00am - 8:00 pmOffice Hours
Monday - Friday
9:00am - 3:00 pmFrost Campus
Tutoring Centre
8:00am - 8:00 pmOffice Hours
Monday - Friday
9:00am - 3:00 pmHaliburton Campus
Frost Tutoring Centre
8:00am - 8:00 pmFrost Office Hours
Monday - Friday
9:00am - 3:00 pm